02
Feb
12

Cute Little Kids

I worry about my children’s self-esteem.  I have always struggled with my weight and was a miserable teenager.  I am constantly trying to encourage my children to get active, to take pride in themselves.  I remember the awkwardness that comes with adolescence.  I want them to be comfortable in their own skin and to realize that this too shall pass, one day.

Then, there are days that I think I have gone too far.

This afternoon, I went to pick up my nine-year old after work.  Each day, I call the sitter when I get into the parking lot and have her meet me at the car.  Normally, the parking lot is full of empty cars, but not today.  I parked next to an older lady that I had never noticed in the neighborhood; she appeared to be waiting on someone as well, so I thought nothing of it and continued to wait for my child.

As my child approached the cars, the lady got out of her vehicle.  My child waited for her to move and got into my car.  As we began to pull away, the lady waved cheerfully at my daughter.  In an attempt to make small talk, I asked, “Do you know her?”

My daughter responded, “Nope.  Old people just like to wave at cute little kids like me.”

Yeah, I don’t think I need to worry about her self-esteem any more.

0 Responses to “Cute Little Kids”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

