23
Nov
12

He Is Moving On

Once upon a time, I was a wanted woman.  Of course that was a long, long time ago.

I guess we all have that one person that thinks we are beautiful.  Mine was Will.  We went to school together.  We worked together.  He loved me and I was oblivious.  Until I wasn’t.  Then, I was repulsed.

Will was not what I had in mind as a potential boyfriend.  He was my age.  He was not terribly popular.  He was a little overweight.  He tended to talk too much.  He was not one of the popular jocks that I had in mind back then.  He asked me out, but I declined and avoided him from that point on.  Smooth, I know.

Years later, we met up again.  Honestly, again, I was too dense to see he was interested in more.  Luckily, he was willing to forego a relationship in return for friendship.  We were well suited for being friends, actually great friends.  He became a regular fixture in my life and my household.

Then our relationship changed.  I met my current spouse and he started to back away.  Soon after he started a relationship of his own.  The distance continued to grow.  Now, we stay in touch simply via Facebook.  While we don’t speak regularly, I always knew that we could have that friendship rekindle as it had in the past, picking up as if time had never passed.  And, of course, I assumed he would always want me.

Today Will let the world know that he had become engaged.  I am very happy for my friend; honestly, I am.  But at the same time, I am a little sad.  Now, he has moved on.  We will never be the same.  He was one of the few people I knew loved me for me and that found me beautiful.

0 Responses to “He Is Moving On”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

