12
Dec
12

I’m A Stalker Mom

I stalk my kids.  I feel it is part of the job.  Honestly, I do not do it often.  When I do, it is normally on the down low.  But, if one of my kids  leaves Facebook open, I am going to look.  I have all their passwords.  I read text messages.  I monitor the books they choose to read and shows they watch.  I make it a point to know their friends.  The list goes on….

Periodically, I stalk my teen’s grades.  Our school system has a great website where I can log in and see each class and her assignments/grades.  My kids are generally good students, so I don’t often think to look at the site, but the end of the grading period is approaching and my teen has had a few projects due and I wanted to see how she did.  Boy, I got a surprise.

Apparently, my daughter decided to take her winter break a little early.  She has stopped turning in homework and classwork in the math class she had already been struggling in.  I was shocked to see a D as her average.

I confronted my child to find out what the issue was.  I thought maybe she needed to be moved within the classroom.  Perhaps she needed tutoring.  I figured there had to be a reason; there really is no good reason.  She forgot to get something signed.  She wasn’t given enough time.  She planned to turn an assignment in after class and a teacher would not allow her to leave to deliver the work.  Blah.  Blah.  Blah.

A D average is not acceptable, but especially for this child.  She is an Honor Student.  She is in advanced classes.  She is active in clubs that require a B average.  She  wants to participate in extracurricular activities that will consume a lot of time.  She has activities coming up soon that will require her being out during the school day.  There is no way she can have a D and do the things that are important to her.  There is no way I can let her do the extra things knowing her grades are low regardless of what the school says.

After a lovely coming to Jesus discussion and a lot of tears (hers, not mine).  My daughter said she would handle it.  She  is supposed to be talking to the teacher tomorrow about turning in the missing work late for partial credit.  Hopefully, this with whatever assignments are remaining will push her up to a C average.  She asked me to let her handle it.

Maybe I should have left it alone and let her handle it, but we are too close to the end of the period to risk it.  I emailed the teacher as well to let her know what was up and to be expecting my daughter to approach her about the work.  I also made very clear to the teacher in my correspondence that I will be watching the grades much more closely moving forward.

I suppose I will find out tomorrow if my request and my daughter’s pleading pays off.  Honestly, I would not blame the teacher if she says no.  I need my daughter to care and to try to handle things for herself.  Until she does, I will continue my stalking.  Let’s just hope we get this under control before college.

13 Responses to “I’m A Stalker Mom”


  1. December 12, 2012 at 4:31 am

    I think it’s awesome that you are being proactive and not letting your child’s work slide. Kudos to you!

  2. December 12, 2012 at 5:35 am

    Good parenting there. How could any parent let a child just slide away from their capability?
    But many do.

    • December 12, 2012 at 6:00 am

      Thanks. I agree. So many parents are happy letting their kid just slide by. I want more for my kids. I want them to want more. And be willing to work for it. Hopefully, she will eventually get there. 🙂

  3. 5 sortaginger
    December 12, 2012 at 3:46 pm

    Good job! Except, if the kids leave FB open, you are also supposed to post “My mom is the greatest, coolest person ever!!!” The fun part is seeing how many of their friends “like” the status 🙂

    • December 12, 2012 at 4:55 pm

      I like how you think! That is awesome!

      • 7 sortaginger
        December 12, 2012 at 11:01 pm

        You just have to be careful, turnabout is fair play. He managed to get my phone and I “liked” a bunch of horribly embarassing pages.

        I know how to reset his FB password and he can’t get it since I control the email password linked to the account, now I am just waiting for the right time to strike.

      • December 12, 2012 at 11:31 pm

        Oh wow, how funny. I guess he gets it honest! You will have to let me know when you get him back. 🙂

  4. December 17, 2012 at 4:46 pm

    At one point, I would have thought you were over the top (not with the grade stuff – I am 100% with you on that) but on some of the stalking stuff. However, I spoke to a friend of mine recently who says she also views her kids Facebook pages. I suppose you have to these days. My kids are young yet but I would not be surprised if my wife and I do similar snooping.

  5. December 21, 2012 at 10:45 am

    You’re not truly a stalker parent until you put a tracker app on their cell phone…poor kids don’t have a chance now days. Can’t be too protective.


Leave a Reply

