14
Dec
12

Jacked Up Like a Spider Monkey

Spider Monkey

 

Recently, I had a sinus infection and, after a ten day antibiotic, I actually have been feeling better. However, over the last few days have developed quite the cough.  I have been coughing to the point that I see stars or gag.  My children get a stricken look on their face whenever it happens.  I am sure they are thinking, “OMG, what do we do when she passes out?”  My coworkers have avoided me for fear of catching the plague.  And the poor souls who have to talk with me on the phone, probably have busted ear drums despite my efforts to avoid coughing in their ears.

Yesterday, enough was enough.  I decided to go back to the doctor.  The doc checked me out and said everything looked okay except for the obvious cough and a little wheezing.    He prescribed a cough syrup with codeine and an Albuterol inhaler.  He said that the cough syrup may make me drowsy and sent me on my way.

I picked up my prescriptions after work and decided to take the cough syrup at dinner just in case I needed something on my stomach.  The doc prescribed a teaspoon.  A teaspoon?  Really.  I was sure that it was a mistake and so, in all of my wisdom, I took a tablespoon.  I felt drunk, started shivering, and bundled up to watch television hoping the meds would work.  About an hour later, I was asleep on the couch.

I do not remember the last time that I slept so sound.  I spent the first three hours of this morning walking around in a fog.  Rather than spending today in a fog, I decided to forego the cough syrup this morning.  I just used the inhaler.  For those who do not know, the crap in inhalers tends to jack people up.  And, to counter the fog from the cough syrup last night, I have been drinking Mtn Dew.  Smart, I know.

Needless to say.  I am pretty hyped.  “Jacked up like a spider monkey” is the best way I can think to describe my current state.  
My heart is beating out of my chest and mind is racing.  I have knocked out my least favorite tasks at work already.  I want to talk a mile a minute.  Hopefully, I can keep myself busy and this Friday will fly by.

 

0 Responses to “Jacked Up Like a Spider Monkey”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

  • Say "mancave" one more time. Coworkers are plucking my nerves. 4 days ago
  • This morning's coworker calls: fussing at the man at the garage and yelling at his kid. Another beautiful day in the neighborhood. 4 days ago
  • It makes me so sad to see the hate that still exists. 6 days ago
  • RT @MaxineWaters: Don't forget, Trump offered to pay legal fees for those who attacked protesters at his rallies. Will he be making that sa… 6 days ago
  • Interested to see how this week plays out. So ready for new adventures on a few fronts. 6 days ago

