24
Dec
12

Child Proof Packaging

I have had a few posts recently on how crappy I have felt. Honestly, my entire family has had an illness of some sort over the past month. It started with my grandma.

About a month ago, my grandma went to the doctor and was diagnosed with bronchitis. She took the meds and started feeling better, but has not been 100%. Yesterday, I spoke to her on the phone at suppertime and she was sounding hoarse. She said she was not feeling well and was going to lay down. I was out and asked if she needed anything, of course, she declined.

Shortly after, my mom called. My grandmother went to the store to get herself medicine. However, she refused to buy herself any because of the cost. My mom wanted me to go to the store for her; of course, and I told her that I was more than happy to help her out and how had asked her just a bit earlier if I could do anything for her but, of course, she said no.

I went to the store and ran the meds to my grandma. I knew she wasn’t feeling up to company, so I only stayed a minute. She seemed genuinely glad to have the medicine, so I felt certain she would take it once I left. I was just sure that I would call her this morning and she would feel better.

I woke up this morning and decided to wait a bit to call my grandma in case she slept in. When I called, she said she really wasn’t feeling any better. She had gone to the doctor this morning and was put on another round of antibiotics. I told her I was disappointed and I had hoped that the medicine would have been enough to make her feel better. My grandma just laughed.

Apparently, the bottle of cough syrup I purchased was rather difficult to open. So difficult, in fact, that she was not able to take the medicine. She actually took the bottle with her to the doctor this morning and had them open it for her. She said that the doctor struggled with the container herself saying she had never seen packaging like it.

I had to laugh. It never entered my mind that she would not be able to open the bottle and I did not call because I wanted her to rest. I am sure it would have never entered her mind to ask me to open the bottle. From now on, I will be sure to packaging is not child proof before leaving my grandma.

2 Responses to “Child Proof Packaging”


  1. 1 sortaginger
    December 26, 2012 at 3:16 am

    I thought this was going to be about toy packaging LOL. I am sorry you all have been ill!


Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

  • Say "mancave" one more time. Coworkers are plucking my nerves. 4 days ago
  • This morning's coworker calls: fussing at the man at the garage and yelling at his kid. Another beautiful day in the neighborhood. 4 days ago
  • It makes me so sad to see the hate that still exists. 6 days ago
  • RT @MaxineWaters: Don't forget, Trump offered to pay legal fees for those who attacked protesters at his rallies. Will he be making that sa… 6 days ago
  • Interested to see how this week plays out. So ready for new adventures on a few fronts. 6 days ago

