31
Dec
12

Weight Loss Chronicles-The Beginning

I really had planned to start my weight loss/getting healthy journey after January 1.  Not because I am trying to do like every other person that makes weight loss their resolution, but because I have plans for the next couple of days and I want to have my cake and eat it, too.  Literally, tomorrow is my birthday.

I have been trying to diet for a few months now and have lost a few pounds.  Nine to be exact.  My lofty goal is to lose 87 over the next twelve months.   Unfortunately, I haven’t been terribly committed which has to change to reach my goal.  I am always putting myself last, like many moms do.  So, this year, I have got to make myself a priority and stick with it no matter what hiccups my schedule gets thanks to the kids.

So, now what?  Here is my plan at this point….

  1. Get the gear.  Like I said, tomorrow is my birthday.  I used my birthday/Christmas money to buy a new scale and cute lunchbox.  Hopefully, I can find some cute tennis shoes on sale over the next couple of days.
  2. Track my food and exercise.  I have previously had great results with myfitnesspal.com.  I have got to get back into the habit of journaling my intake.  Look me up; I could use supportive friends.  I am 0rnerydame.  The O is actually a zero.
  3. Fit in exercise.  This is usually my biggest challenge.  I want to get 30 minutes a day five days a week.  On days that I am able to take a lunch break at work, I will walk for thirty minutes and pack my lunch.  Days that I am not able to walk at lunch, I will use the elliptical that is currently taking up space in my family room or walk around the neighborhood.  I have also asked my boyfriend for a punch card to my local Zumba studio so that I can drop in when my schedule permits to spice it up a bit.
  4. Blog it!  I have decided that Sundays will be my weigh in day.  As I said before, I want to lose 87lbs.  Each Sunday, I will fess up on what I have lost or gained.  I will also let you in on my tracking, exercise, and whatever else is going on.

I know that this will not be an easy road for me to take, but I am pretty excited.  I have the support of my friends to help me stay focused and, hopefully, you will be part of that support group.  Feel free to join me on my journey over the next year; the more the merrier (and hopefully skinnier).

1 Response to “Weight Loss Chronicles-The Beginning”


  1. 1 sortaginger
    December 31, 2012 at 10:56 am

    I am right there with you! 2013 is going to be our year to do this!

    And, Happy Birthday!


Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

  • RT @delusions_of: You look depressed. Let's listen to Nine Inch Nails together. 17 hours ago
  • Say "mancave" one more time. Coworkers are plucking my nerves. 5 days ago
  • This morning's coworker calls: fussing at the man at the garage and yelling at his kid. Another beautiful day in the neighborhood. 5 days ago
  • It makes me so sad to see the hate that still exists. 1 week ago
  • RT @MaxineWaters: Don't forget, Trump offered to pay legal fees for those who attacked protesters at his rallies. Will he be making that sa… 1 week ago

