04
Jan
13

Bedtime Stories

photo credit: Matthew Sanzone via photopin cc

photo credit: Matthew Sanzone via photopin cc

Bedtime has always been my favorite time of the day.  When I was a child, my dad would come in, talk to me, say prayers with me, and then rub my back until I fell asleep.  Now, as a parent, it is my favorite time of the day.

Honestly, at one time, I thought my kids were getting a little old for our nighttime rituals.  I thought they would like a little more independence at bedtime.  I was wrong; both of my children look forward to a few minutes of downtime.  Some nights it is simply a prayer with a kiss.  Other nights, I curl up alongside them and they share stories about what happened during their day.  They will actually fight over who gets me first.  It is pretty awesome, not the fighting itself, but the fact that they are that eager to spend time with me.

Tonight, I spent a little time with both kids.  First I visited with my tween.  We talked about summer camps, shopping, and kids in her class.  We remembered projects that remained to be completed (note to self: make time this weekend for math extra credit) and, as always, she complained about her sister not believing that she will one day be a teenager and act the same way.  Finally, realizing my tween would talk all night about nothing, we said our prayers, I gave her a kiss, and I made my way across the hall.

I really believe that my teen enjoys bedtime as much, if not more than, I do.  She loves to have my full attention.  Our conversations are always interesting.  It amazes me what teens deal with these days.  Luckily, the kids have been out of school, so there has been little opportunity for drama.  Tonight we chatted about random stuff like her hair, her clothes, and what she did during the day.  Eventually, I had to get up for fear of falling asleep, as I often do.

I left the room and could not help but smile.  Really, I am raising two great kids.  I am so lucky to have the time that I do with them.  As valuable as I believe sharing time as a family at the dinner table is, I have to believe that, at least in my house, it is bed time that fosters the relationships that I hold dear.

4 Responses to “Bedtime Stories”


  1. 1 OpinionsToGo
    January 4, 2013 at 3:52 am

    Such a sweet post. Like you, I think that the end of the day should be quiet and peaceful. So wonderful that you and your kids can share those moments. Just know that they will do the same thing when they have children.

  2. January 4, 2013 at 3:52 am

    I love your idea of creating a bed time routine with your kids. My daughter is six months old, and I would love to begin a tradition like this 🙂


Leave a Reply

