04
Jan
13

My Dramatic Start To The Day

Some days just start better than others.  This morning was not one of my better mornings.  I overslept, my jeans had not dried completely, kids didn’t want to get ready-you get the picture.  Despite it all, I was in a decent mood and we were making good time.  That was when the phone rang.

Generally speaking, I do not get calls as I am getting ready for work.  So, when I do, I automatically think something is wrong.  When I heard my mother on the other end of the line, my heart began to race as she told me that my father never made it to work this morning.  She had gotten a call from his employer asking where he was.

My parents have been having problems with their plumbing, so my mom thought he may take a vacation day to make repairs.  My mother explained this to the person that called and asked if he had left a message saying that he wasn’t coming into work; the person indicated that she was new and unable to check messages for call ins.

When my mother woke up to get my brother off to school at 6am  my father was gone, so she assumed he had went onto work despite the plumbing issue.  Where would he have gone so early to get plumbing supplies?  Of course, she goes to worst case scenario and decides to call me.

Nothing prepares one for the sound of their normally calm mother panicking on the other end of the phone line.  I tried to remain calm, but my first thought was that my father was broken down somewhere or had been in an accident.  He travels a notoriously dangerous road to work each morning.  I decided that it only made sense for me to go out looking and told my mother to stay by the phone.

Now, I was already late for work at this point, so I had to call my own employer and still had two kids to drop off for the day.  I called HR and left a rambling message and then decided to be safe and call my boss to tell them I would be even later since I needed to search for my missing father.  I was literally shaking as I made the calls.

I am a worst case scenario girl, a true worry wart.  I was imagining my father in a ditch.  What would I do if I did find him?

I was headed out the door when my phone rang again.  It was my mother.  My dad had just arrived home carrying a bag from Wal-Mart and breakfast from McDonald’s.

We had a happy ending for a dramatic morning.  My father was safe and sound.  He had even done something nice and gotten my mother breakfast.  Now if only the man would invest in a cell phone or leave a note….

4 Responses to “My Dramatic Start To The Day”


  1. 1 sortaginger
    January 4, 2013 at 5:42 pm

    Whew! Glad it ended well!

  2. January 4, 2013 at 6:23 pm

    Ahh! I would have been just like you – freaking out. I’m SO GLAD everything turned out ok.


Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

  • Say "mancave" one more time. Coworkers are plucking my nerves. 4 days ago
  • This morning's coworker calls: fussing at the man at the garage and yelling at his kid. Another beautiful day in the neighborhood. 4 days ago
  • It makes me so sad to see the hate that still exists. 6 days ago
  • RT @MaxineWaters: Don't forget, Trump offered to pay legal fees for those who attacked protesters at his rallies. Will he be making that sa… 6 days ago
  • Interested to see how this week plays out. So ready for new adventures on a few fronts. 6 days ago

