06
Jan
13

The First Official Weigh In

This morning was my first official weigh in.  I did an unofficial weigh in mid-week which proved to not be a good move on my part.  Mid-week it appeared I had lost five pounds.  This morning it was at two.  I am looking at any loss as being a positive, though, so it is all good.  Only 85 to go.

The Challenges

I did well tracking Wednesday through Friday, but failed to track yesterday (Saturday).  Weekends generally prove difficult for my diets; I will have to plan better from here on out and practice some will power moving forward.

Exercise proved to be another challenge last week.  I had high hopes, but failed miserably.  The four days I dieted, I did not manage to exercise.  Originally, I planned to fit my workouts in at lunch.  The first day, I forgot my shoes.  The second, my boss was using the treadmill at lunch and I was not able to.  I had hoped to work out in the evenings on days I did not fit it in at lunch.  Unfortunately, I have continued to feel like poo and chose to rest in the evenings and try to get over the crud.  I am starting to feel a little better, so, hopefully, I can ease into a new exercise routine.

Successes

First, I have managed to drink more water; I heard last week that a person that drinks six glasses of water a day will lose five pounds more a year.

Second, I managed to get a new goal for my exercise.  WB and I are going to participate in the Susan Komen 5k that takes place in our town this April.  My teen also wants to participate.  I am pretty excited.

I have started to focus more on my overall health.  I believe that rest is key to finally getting over illness that has been plaguing me for over a month.  I was able to be in bed each week night by midnight; I hope to gradually move it back as we go forward.  I am using aromatherapy to relax and encourage better rest.  I am also using my netti pot to try to clear up my sinus issues without the use of drugs.  I wouild love to be able to take a more hollistic approach to some of my issues moving forward.

Moving Forward

I fear this week will be another challenging one.  My work schedule will not allow for exercise at lunch and my kids return to their school and activity schedule.  Hopefully, I will be to squeeze in some workouts in the evenings and can succeed in tracking more completely.  We will see come next Sunday just how much I can do.

6 Responses to “The First Official Weigh In”


  1. 1 OpinionsToGo
    January 6, 2013 at 5:41 pm

    Good for you…good attitude! Baby steps…Baby steps!

  2. January 6, 2013 at 6:55 pm

    I have been properly dieting for the last 9 months. And my properly I mean, finally sticking to it and seeing results. Weekends have ALWAYS been an issue, but I’ve still lost 40 lbs. Saying that, only the last few weeks (out of 9 months) I’ve been FINALLY in control of my weekends. Tough stuff.

    • January 6, 2013 at 8:34 pm

      Congrats on getting the weekends under control and losing 40! Maybe you can give me some tips as I move forward; I just started following you. I look forward to reading your posts!

  3. January 13, 2013 at 4:04 am

    Awesome work! Keep it up!!

  4. January 30, 2013 at 9:36 pm

    Good luck to you. I’ve been working with a dietitian for 4 months now. I have health issues in addition to having a fat ass. You really only want to lose 1/2 to 1 lb a week. All those diets you go on that make you lose 10 in the first week you will find give you back that same 10 lbs and then some. I’m only down 15 (with 35 more to go) but I am going in the right direction and I am keeping it off.

    Good luck. And I love your blog name!


Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

  • RT @delusions_of: You look depressed. Let's listen to Nine Inch Nails together. 17 hours ago
  • Say "mancave" one more time. Coworkers are plucking my nerves. 5 days ago
  • This morning's coworker calls: fussing at the man at the garage and yelling at his kid. Another beautiful day in the neighborhood. 5 days ago
  • It makes me so sad to see the hate that still exists. 1 week ago
  • RT @MaxineWaters: Don't forget, Trump offered to pay legal fees for those who attacked protesters at his rallies. Will he be making that sa… 1 week ago

