16
Jan
13

The Wrong Twin

I recently started thinking about my family and how lucky we are to have one another.  Especially the relationship I have with my siblings; my brother, my sister and me.  My brother and sister are twins and could not be more different and, yet, I share a lot in common with them both.  In fact, I have often thought I should have been the twin in place of one of them.

My sister and I have always been close despite our age difference; the two girls in a house full of boys.  We have always been able to shop, talk about friends, boys, and normal girl stuff.  Now that she is a mom, we can relate on an all new level sharing our experiences as moms.  She is content being a mommy, a bit naive, conservative, and a bit of a redneck.

My brother, on the other hand, is career minded.  He is in his senior year of college and embraces city life.  He is very worldly with friends from all walks of life.  He is liberal; we share the same political views.  We enjoy the same types of television and movies.  Oh, and he is gay.

I was the first person that he came out to.  I was caught off guard, but not completely surprised.  He has always kept his private life private which I can appreciate.  He wanted to come out to my mom and sister too, but knew I would be the best to approach first and that I could tell him how to approach the others.  My mom has slowly come around and accepted my brother’s sexual orientation.  My sister has not been so supportive.  It is just not discussed.

These days, I feel like things are the way they should be.  It was not meant for me to be a twin; my being oldest has allowed me to be there for both my siblings and my mom.  Our family may not be perfect, in fact we still have a ways to go, but we have one another and, despite our differences, I would not trade any of them for the world.

2 Responses to “The Wrong Twin”


  1. January 17, 2013 at 3:30 am

    it’s nice that you can have sucha close relationship with your siblings.

  2. January 18, 2013 at 4:57 am

    I’m glad you are all close. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

  • Say "mancave" one more time. Coworkers are plucking my nerves. 4 days ago
  • This morning's coworker calls: fussing at the man at the garage and yelling at his kid. Another beautiful day in the neighborhood. 4 days ago
  • It makes me so sad to see the hate that still exists. 6 days ago
  • RT @MaxineWaters: Don't forget, Trump offered to pay legal fees for those who attacked protesters at his rallies. Will he be making that sa… 6 days ago
  • Interested to see how this week plays out. So ready for new adventures on a few fronts. 6 days ago

