01
Feb
13

Restoring Charm To My Kitchen

I fell in love as soon as I walked in the door to my current house.  It had charm and I could see it despite the orange living room walls and race car borders in the bedrooms.

Some rooms had to go before we moved in; my daughters could not have bedrooms with car borders.  Other rooms could wait.  Eventually, the orange walls were changed to my current red which was apparently a very brave move according to my painter.

One room has remained untouched since my purchase-the kitchen.  My kitchen has a black and white checkerboard tile floor.  The walls have a chair rail; above the rail the wall is white and the bottom half of the wall is bright red.  The red matches my laminate countertop/backsplash perfectly.  The cabinets are white and their hardware has a touch of red.  If I was a Coca-Cola fan, the room would be perfect, but I am a Pepsi girl; I went with a rooster theme.

Over the past couple of years, my charming kitchen has gotten tired.  The floor has had a particularly difficult go at it.  The room sees a lot of action.  Not long after moving in, I realized that the floor had problems when grout began to chip.  It has gotten progressively worse as time has gone on.  Then, I dropped a frozen turkey and cracked a couple of tiles.  Things went downhill from there.

One of the projects I wanted to work on this year was the kitchen.  I have a laundry list of things I would like to have done.  First on the list is the floor.  Larry is off work this week and next.  There is no better time to put the man to work.

After much deliberation, we agreed on a new tile.  It is bluish/ brownish/grayish granite and could not be farther from the black and white that I originally fell in love with.  We started making plans.  Then, I realized the walls won’t match-I picked swatches up today for our next project.  Those changes will mean the countertop is going to clash and will to need to be changed, too.  When the countertop goes, so does the coordinating backsplash.  Poor Larry is getting more than he bargained for, so is my checkbook.

We started our demolishing today.  Much to our surprise, the previous owners laid the tile over laminate.  We found a live wire that was put in a crack between the baseboard and tile.  We had to remove a huge section of baseboard to remove the fridge only to find that the entire wall will move.  Larry is normally a quiet man; I heard a lot of ugly words tonight.

I am pretty excited about the changes that are taking place in the house and cannot wait to see the transformation.  I just wish that I could do it all at once; I cannot wait to see the finished project and have charm restored once again to my little kitchen-maybe more than it started with.

2 Responses to “Restoring Charm To My Kitchen”


  1. 1 OpinionsToGo
    February 1, 2013 at 2:11 pm

    Already feeling bad for Larry. Hope you post photos along the way!

  2. April 6, 2014 at 7:29 pm

    Drawer appliances faced with custom cabinetry are also on the same trend.
    The 12V lighting system requires a number of components
    to be connected, so it is wise to find a good electrician for the job.
    L- Shaped Layout – This layout includes a cabinet that’s arranged against
    two adjacent walls the same shape as the letter ‘L’.


Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

  • RT @delusions_of: You look depressed. Let's listen to Nine Inch Nails together. 16 hours ago
  • Say "mancave" one more time. Coworkers are plucking my nerves. 5 days ago
  • This morning's coworker calls: fussing at the man at the garage and yelling at his kid. Another beautiful day in the neighborhood. 5 days ago
  • It makes me so sad to see the hate that still exists. 1 week ago
  • RT @MaxineWaters: Don't forget, Trump offered to pay legal fees for those who attacked protesters at his rallies. Will he be making that sa… 1 week ago

