02
Feb
13

The Cranky Neighbor

Every neighborhood has one; the cranky neighbor that peeks out their window to see what is happening and fusses over excess noise.  Tonight I realised that I have become the cranky old lady next door for my street.  I really tried not to, but it happened.

We live next door to a duplex.  It is privately owned but a management company takes care of finding the renters.  It is a revolving door with most renters lasting less than a year for one reason or another.  Usually, I am friendly with the neighbors, but keep to myself.

About a month ago, we got new neighbors-a couple of young boys.  Shortly after moving in, the parties started.  The first few were pretty quiet.  Then, a week or two ago, there was a knock at the door.  They were preparing for a throw down and wanted to give us their number in case they got too loud which I appreciated.  They were fine and they kept it down.

Tonight was another story.  I had to go out at 9pm to get my teen from a field trip and noticed that there were a lot more cars around than usual, so I knew a party was in the works.  It was about 10pm when they started to get on my nerves.  I noticed it first when the dogs started barking at something on the street when they went out; I looked out the window to see four teenagers coming through my front yard laughing and ready for a good time.  They stopped just short of knocking on our door.

A little time passed, their music got louder which I can handle.  But then the girls started screaming.  I could not tell if they were playing or if there was drama going on out on the street.  Either way, I had kids trying to get to sleep, so I stepped outside onto my porch debating on if I should go next door.

About the time I stepped outside, a boy came out of the duplex.  I got his attention and let him know that they needed to keep it down or I would be calling the police.  He quickly said, “Yes, ma’am.”

As soon as I got back inside, I started having guilt over saying anything.  Mainly because Larry said we could expect my car to be egged soon.  Then, there was a knock at the door.  The boy came over to apologize and to make sure we were good.  He had sent all of the people away which made me feel guiltier; he does seem like he is trying to be a good neighbor.   I really wasn’t trying to be a kill joy; I just want my kids to be able to sleep in peace.

Now, I have a decision to make.  Part of me wants to say something and let them know that I wasn’t trying to have them end their party, but just keep it down.  The other prefers to remain the cranky old lady.  Decisions, decisions.

4 Responses to “The Cranky Neighbor”


  1. February 2, 2013 at 5:41 am

    I like the cranky old lady. Especially if it is during the week.

  2. 3 OpinionsToGo
    February 2, 2013 at 1:48 pm

    I really think that you did your neighbor a favor. Maybe, he wanted the party to be over, but knew he wouldn’t be the ‘cool’ guy if he told everyone to leave, and so he had you to help him get rid of everyone…THANKS MOM!!


Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

  • RT @delusions_of: You look depressed. Let's listen to Nine Inch Nails together. 17 hours ago
  • Say "mancave" one more time. Coworkers are plucking my nerves. 5 days ago
  • This morning's coworker calls: fussing at the man at the garage and yelling at his kid. Another beautiful day in the neighborhood. 5 days ago
  • It makes me so sad to see the hate that still exists. 1 week ago
  • RT @MaxineWaters: Don't forget, Trump offered to pay legal fees for those who attacked protesters at his rallies. Will he be making that sa… 1 week ago

