21
Feb
13

Awkward Conversations

Today, Jeanette wasn’t feeling well.  It started before she left for school, she was complaining about her stomach.  As a mom, I am a skeptic when it comes to morning aches and pains-my dramatic girls have pulled a few over on me over the past few years.  I sent Jeanette onto school and headed to work only to be called to pick her up before my workday began.

Jeanette didn’t have a fever yet she was obviously not feeling well.  I took Jeanette to the sitter and went back to work.  I called to check on her later in the day and found it was a good thing that I had picked her up as she did, eventually, become ill.

I laid down with Jeanette for a little bit at bedtime; by this time she was feeling better.  Jeanette confessed that this morning it could have been nerves that made her feel bad this morning, but she was glad she had gone home since she did throw up later.  Apparently, there is a lot of drama going on in her little circle and Jeanette found herself in the middle which upset her which played a factor in her feeling bad, but she did have a bug as well.

Jeanette went on to tell me that the nurse asks some weird questions while she was waiting for me to arrive.  I am not sure why she would need to know about my daughter’s menstrual cycle, or lack thereof, when she is claiming a sick stomach, but there are some things a ten year old just doesn’t want to talk about with an almost stranger.  As if feeling bad and tween drama was not enough to make the ten year old cry.

I, eventually, decided that it was best if I left so Jeanette could get some sleep.  But not before Jeanette informed me that she was not eating my biscuits in the morning for breakfast because she believes they were the root of her illness.  She also agreed to avoid the nurse tomorrow as to not have another awkward conversation.

2 Responses to “Awkward Conversations”


  1. February 21, 2013 at 12:22 pm

    Unfortunately, the school nurse may be the only person some of these kids learn this information from, even at this age. But there should be a more subtle way to approach it with the younger kids.

    And thank you for spelling your daughter’s name right (if that is her name)! 🙂

    • February 21, 2013 at 7:13 pm

      I know you are right, but it was all in the approach. There has got to be a better way.

      Glad you like her name. It is not hers IRL, but the name of the Chipmunk that is the closest match personality wise. I am so original. Haha


Leave a Reply

