24
Mar
13

Entitlement

I will probably not win any friends with this post, but I think it needs to be said.  As many of you may know, I am not a huge fan of Facebook.  Primarily, because some people use the site to voice opinions that I feel should remain silent.  This afternoon, this was posted on a “friend’s” wall.

205258_276402369159615_1312637716_n[1]

Here is my problem with the post….

  1. The person posting has been on public assistance herself.  She has admitted this before in other posts; apparently, SHE is entitled, but no one else should have access.
  2. The poster has never been responsible for securing her own housing or pay for her own insurance.  She is clueless as to what it truly takes to make it in the real world.
  3. The poster doesn’t work despite being told by the courts that she has to get a job and contribute to the support for her own child.  Her excuse?  It is hard to find a job with kids.  She found a sugar daddy and gets to stay home and spend his money all day rather than work, or at least she did until the recent court’s decision.  So, it is not her tax dollars that are going to supporting these programs.  She has her own support program-child support, a sugar daddy, and parents that give in to her every whim.

Obviously, you can probably tell by the tone so far that I am disgusted by the post as well as the poster.  It just amazes me how ridiculous some people can be.  How does one perch themselves on a pedestal so high that they lose touch with reality?

Luckily, I have not had to go on public assistance, but I feel I am walking a tightrope and could have to at any time.  It is hard to make it nowadays which is a fact that a kept woman would be oblivious to.  I pay more monthly for my insurance currently than I did in my previous apartment for rent each month.  I have decided to keep the insurance rather than risk something happening due to a preexisting condition for one of my children.   If I lost my job tomorrow, I could possibly keep my house for a little bit while I looked, but it would not be a far stretch before I had to decide between housing and putting food on the table.  Yes, I do feel like I am entitled to those benefits.  I have paid into them since I was of working age.  My parents have contributed for their adult life.  I pay in so that others have the resources in their time of need, as well.

I will be the first to admit that our public assistance programs need work.  However, I would much rather have the programs in place and have a few taking advantage of the system rather than someone that truly needs something going without.

 

 

6 Responses to “Entitlement”


  1. March 24, 2013 at 5:49 am

    Further proof that I think we are related somehow. No system is perfect, but the idea that their assistance is “different” drives me crazy (I have a relative against medicaid… Except for when she needs it)

  2. March 24, 2013 at 12:05 pm

    The person who posted that sounds like they have no idea what it actually means… I get why you are bothered.

  3. March 24, 2013 at 2:15 pm

    Unfortunately, avoiding Facebook doesn’t eliminate dealing with ignorant people such as this. Stupidity runs rampid these days….both online and off….the trick is to not let others stupidity get your panties in a bunch. I simply take satisfaction in the thought that SOMEDAY their stupidity will catch up with them. Kharma is a bitch, if I don’t hold onto that I’ll go insane….


Leave a Reply

