04
Apr
13

Black and Blue

My office is fairly casual most days.  Honestly, it was a huge selling point when I accepted the job.  I love being able to throw on jeans and a top and head out the door when I am having a particularly rough day.  I still try to dress up a few days a week.

Today, we have someone from corporate coming and were instructed to wear professional casual.  Not a huge deal, really.  Most of us are not super casual during the week.

So far this morning, there are five guys in the office all wearing button down shirts.  All are white/blue; two are stripes, the rest are plaid.  If I could find a way to take a picture for you I would.

The women are all wearing black.  At least all that I can see without walking across the office to see what my Work Buddy has on; she snuck in on me without saying hello.

What am I wearing?  Black slacks and a yellow/black/white top.  I like bright colors.  I never thought a lot of it until the last time we had corporate in for a few days training; on the last day, the trainer mentioned the colors I selected.  I hadn’t given it a lot of thought again until this morning.

Apparently, I missed the memo on professional casual only being limited to black or blue.  I am going to stick out like a sore thumb when we all go to lunch.

3 Responses to “Black and Blue”


  1. April 4, 2013 at 1:49 pm

    That might not be a bad thing, getting the attention of the higher-ups 🙂

  2. April 5, 2013 at 2:51 am

    I’d have to say I miss those casual days. My new job, we all have to wear corp logo shirts every day and khaki or black pants. At least I don’t have to figure out what to wear every day, but I kinda miss being creative and my own clothes!!!!

  3. April 10, 2013 at 2:34 am

    I have worked both in every type of environment; I prefer to be able to be creative, too.

    As for our visitor, I could have worn flashing lights and he would not have noticed. Which is actually okay with me. There is something to be said for flying under the radar.


Leave a Reply

