12
Jun
13

The Verbal Divide

Recently, I had a talk with a friend about someone that had applied for a job.  The person was from Georgia and the position was in California.  They felt the accent would deter customers; personally, at that time, I thought the accent was warm and welcoming.  I could not imagine it having a negative effect on anyone.

I guess that day I was feeling more warm and fuzzy than today.

I just had a message from someone in South Carolina.  Obviously, the girl was young.  But the pronunciation of every word made me cringe.  She sounded uneducated which was most likely not the case since the message was for me at work.  It was to the point that I do not care to call the girl back because I can only compare what I imagine the call being to nails on a chalkboard.

Don’t get me wrong; some days, I really dislike the Northerner’s accents as well.  I find them to be bitchy and often feel like I am being talked down to when dealing with them-especially when dealing with older individuals.

Really, I don’t believe I have an accent; although, I get comments from the Northerners telling me otherwise.  I hope that I am teaching my children to speak eloquently enough to where they are not irritating to individuals from other parts of the country.  I try to help them with pronunciation, to teach them not to talk over someone else, and not to use slang when dealing with people other than their close friends/family.  I do not think we sound like uneducated bumpkins despite being from the South ourselves.  If we do, someone help me out and let me know so that I can fix it!

1 Response to “The Verbal Divide”


  1. June 14, 2013 at 3:16 am

    We should have a speak off… I’d love to hear your accent! 🙂


Leave a Reply

