23
Jul
13

Baby Mama Drama

Over the past few years, I have come to appreciate the fact that I am parenting solo.  Really, even before I was the solo parent, I got along with my children’s father.  It was not easy and we had our differences, but it was right for the kids.

Like I said, I have come to appreciate my situation.  I am thankful that I do not have to deal with custody fights, child support battles, and the trivial crap that I witness other parents bickering over.  I heard another horror story today and thought I would share a few of my observations.

  1. Child support should not be your only income.
  2. It is not the step-parent’s responsibility to support your child.
  3. The other parent or their extended family is not your babysitting service.
  4. You cannot control what the other parent does with the child.
  5. What you say and do will get back to the other parent.
  6. Excluding the other parent from social/school events harms the child.
  7. Television, video games, and the computer are not substitutes for one on one time with your child.
  8. Ignoring issues your child has does not make them go away.
  9. A revolving door of husbands/boyfriends does not make you stable.
  10. A court order should be followed, not bent to suit your whims.

Your actions, as a parent, create more friction than you can imagine.  The power you abuse for whatever reasons you may have, hurts your child.  It may not show initially, but eventually, it will seep through to the surface.

“Live so that when your children think of fairness and integrity, they think of you.” – H. Jackson Brown

“Life affords no greater responsibility, no greater privilege, than the raising of the next generation.” – C. Everett Koop

1 Response to “Baby Mama Drama”


  1. July 23, 2013 at 8:57 pm

    I was very lucky that I had a husband who wanted to support M even though it was a step-parent-child relationship, but that was never anything I asked for or expected and I knew to be grateful. Now we are divorced but they are still dad and son because you know, it isn’t just about me. Taking the high road isn’t fun sometimes.

    Can I add, “Birthday gifts and Christmas gifts do not subsitute for child support”? That is the argument M’s bio-father used for years. Now it is “I have to pay support for the other kids first since they are younger”. Oh-kay then.


Leave a Reply

