26
Dec
13

Our Christmas Miracle

We have all fallen hard for my daughter’s little hamster, Rosie. She was supposed to be a Christmas present for Jeanette, but each of us has grown rather attached to the critter. That is why the last few days have been so hard and why I have got to share some of the dramatics that this little critter has caused.

I guess I should preface the story with Rosie is only partially to blame. Really, the dog played a big role in everything that conspired, a very big role.

Our house gets pretty chilly at night and for some reason my daughter’s room gets especially cold. The chill on top of Rosie’s love of her wheel past midnight had forced me to move her cage to the dining room Saturday night. The next morning we overslept and ran out the door late to church forgetting to move Rosie back to the safety of being shut in a bedroom.

We returned home from church a few hours later and Jeanette ran in ahead of me. I had just reached the stoop when I heard a blood curdling scream. The dining room had been destructed. Our dog, Crunchy, had knocked her cage into the floor and drug it into the hallway. There was bedding, food, treats and anything else that had been in the cage spread throughout the area. In the hallway, the cage laid in pieces. Rosie was nowhere to be found.

A quick canvas showed no little hamster body. There was no fur, no blood, so I was hopeful that she was okay. I checked the dogs for any signs that our newest pet had become their mid-morning snack and there was nothing. We started cleaning hoping to find our furry friend. As we cleaned, Brittany spotted her watching us from behind the couch in the living room. The living room is off limits to the dogs. Rosie had squeezed behind the baby gate to safety. We all rejoiced.

A lesson was learned on Sunday. Do not put the cage on the table.

Fast forward a few days to Wednesday. It was time to go to grandma’s house. We loaded the car and hit the road. On our way, I got to thinking about Rosie. I asked Jeanette where she was and she was in the dining room on the buffet. I would have preferred her be behind a closed door, but figured it would be okay since there was no way for the dog to get on the buffet.

WRONG! We arrived home and, again, Jeanette went in first. I made it to the door in time for another scream. This time it was much more intense. Crunchy had pushed a chair over to the buffet and knocked her down again. The cage was again drug into the hallway. There was massive destruction similar to that from days earlier. But this time, there was more. The dogs had gotten sick. We had poop in the kitchen, dining room, and Crunchy had gotten into the family room. He was digging frantically at the couch.

Again, Rosie was nowhere to be found. But this time, with the added sick dogs I was worried. I held onto the hope she was okay for a bit. Then, we found blood. Jeanette was heartbroken.
For the life of me, I could not see the dogs eating our precious pet. But there was no other explanation. We searched throughout the house hoping to be wrong. My boyfriend thought that she might be hurt and that she had hidden herself away to die. We flipped couches and moved everything that we thought she could possibly be under, in, or behind. Eventually, I gave up and we threw away the remains of Rosie’s cage.

Jeanette went to bed heartbroken. There was no consoling the child who had fallen in love with her pet during the short time we had her. Out of ideas on what to say, I suggested that we pray for Rosie. We prayed that if she was alive that she be found soon and that if she had passed that God would love her and take care of her. We prayed for forgiveness for the dogs and for our own strength to forgive. I cried right along with her.

After things had calmed down and the kids were settled, I returned to cleaning the family room. I picked up things that had gotten thrown around in the search, vacuumed, and was putting everything back together when I spotted a familiar face. Rosie was peeking out at me from underneath the couch! I yelled up for help catching her and everyone sprang into action. Moments later, our little Rosie was found with not a hair out of place. She was fine!

From what we can tell, the dog carried Rosie to the family room since she would have had to go down a flight of stairs. We also figure that the dog hurt his paw trying to get Rosie and the blood we found was his.

We have to assume that the dog has had somewhat good intentions and only wanted to play with Rosie since she was not eaten, again. I am also pretty sure that it is hamsters, not cats, which have nine lives. We can also say without hesitation that our prayer was answered. It was a Christmas miracle.

0 Responses to “Our Christmas Miracle”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

  • RT @delusions_of: You look depressed. Let's listen to Nine Inch Nails together. 17 hours ago
  • Say "mancave" one more time. Coworkers are plucking my nerves. 5 days ago
  • This morning's coworker calls: fussing at the man at the garage and yelling at his kid. Another beautiful day in the neighborhood. 5 days ago
  • It makes me so sad to see the hate that still exists. 1 week ago
  • RT @MaxineWaters: Don't forget, Trump offered to pay legal fees for those who attacked protesters at his rallies. Will he be making that sa… 1 week ago

