16
Apr
14

The End Of The Rainbow

As a single mom, I do the best that I can to provide and give my kids some luxuries, but I can only do so much. We buy used, look for sales, etc.

My oldest has middle school graduation coming up. We found her dress on sale and we were both happy. She intends to wear the dress for Easter as well. She has been wishing and whining for a pair of Rainbow sandals for a while now and I thought it would be a good thing to put into her Easter basket so she could have them for church on Sunday.

I figured that the flip flops would be a few dollars more than I would normally spend on a pair of sandals. I was not expecting a price tag of $53.99. I could not buy them and feel good about the decision. No way. No how.

Generally, I feel like American Eagle is a bit overpriced. However, I thought I would stop in and see what their selection of flip flops looked like on the off chance they had some similar. They really did not, but they had some cute ones for $24.95 and I found a pair that would work with her dress. It was more reasonable and was actually what I figured I would spend initially on the Rainbows, so I picked them up.

I decided to comb through the sale racks before leaving and found a shirt and scarf on mark down with an additional 70% off, so I could not let that by. I picked them up as well.

At the register, I was told that shoes were buy one get one half. Even though we did not need more, I went back and got a second pair of flip flops. She will wear them. I have no doubt.

In all, I got two pairs of shoes, a shirt, and a scarf for $47 and some change. It all still came to less than the Rainbows and I think the American Eagle shoes are much cuter.

Not sure just how disappointed my kid will be with the alternative shoes, but I think I did pretty well!

0 Responses to “The End Of The Rainbow”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

