27
Apr
14

Selfish Parenting

I know that I should not hold others to my own standards, but I cannot help but wonder about other parents when they are easy to pass off their responsibilities or just make decisions which are not in the best interest of their kids. I feel sorry for the kids and for the support system which suffers when parents are selfish.

I feel guilty when I ask anyone to watch my kids so that I can get away for a night. I have never been away from both of my kids at the same time for more than a couple of nights for business. They did not go away for sleepover camps until they were ten years old. I look forward to spending time with them. I do not plan trips to get away from them.

Over the last week, Larry’s mother has had the “privilege” of keeping Alvin so that his mother could jet set on an expensive kid free vacation. She has never hesitated to send him away for weeks at a time to grandparents leaving him for as long as three weeks. While he is away, she rarely, if ever, calls. She plans trips with the rest of her family when he is away.

Larry’s mother typically watches her other grandchildren. She practically raises them as her own. Larry’s sister comes and goes, parading her kids as ornaments. Now, when there is a family emergency and she is needed out of town, she is even considering taking the youngest, an infant, with her out of town as to not inconvenience the mother. Heaven forbid one of the child’s parents step up and take care of the kid for a day or two during a family emergency.

I just don’t get it. I feel bad for Larry’s mom. The poor woman cannot get a break. And I feel bad for the kids. Kids pick up on more than we realize.

We all need a break from time to time. We all need support. But really, there does come a point where you are just a sorry parent. Unfortunately, there are a lot of them in this world. Sure, the kids are taken care of physically, but what are you doing to them emotionally when you are thrusting them into the arms of grandma every chance you get? Only time will tell. I have a feeling that there will be some major issues for a therapist to sort out in the future.

0 Responses to “Selfish Parenting”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

  • Say "mancave" one more time. Coworkers are plucking my nerves. 4 days ago
  • This morning's coworker calls: fussing at the man at the garage and yelling at his kid. Another beautiful day in the neighborhood. 4 days ago
  • It makes me so sad to see the hate that still exists. 6 days ago
  • RT @MaxineWaters: Don't forget, Trump offered to pay legal fees for those who attacked protesters at his rallies. Will he be making that sa… 6 days ago
  • Interested to see how this week plays out. So ready for new adventures on a few fronts. 6 days ago

