22
Sep
14

Changing Seasons

Today is the first day of fall and the first sick day of the season for my second child. Tis the season. It happens every year.

It is crazy how fast the year has flown by. My younger daughter is home sick with her usual seasonal allergy crud that progresses to an infection of some sort (ear, sinus, respiratory, blah, blah, blah). Football season for us is almost over-we only have two more games to play in. Our house has been inundated with stinkbugs and crickets which are signs that winter is fast approaching.

As much as I love fall, I hate that the year has gone by so quickly. I was talking about everything with my daughter this morning and she got a huge grin on her face. She was excited that winter was fast approaching.
Of course, I looked at her like she was crazy. The cold? The snow? Ugh!

Her response, however, warmed my heart. She said she loved the snow. She was looking forward to lighting a fire in our fireplace and hanging out together around the fire. She went on to say that she likes when the electricity goes out and we play board games and that she was excited to hang with her people. We are her people, her sister and I. She likes us!

Her perspective on things made me smile. I guess the snow really does make us slow down a bit. I consider myself very lucky that I have a teenager that was actually okay being stuck in dark house without a television or electronics to entertain her. Maybe I will try to not dread this winter quite so much and try to look forward to some down time with my kiddos.

2 Responses to “Changing Seasons”


  1. September 22, 2014 at 1:52 pm

    Very cool. I can’t imagine my daughter being happy that the power is off!

  2. September 22, 2014 at 2:53 pm

    It surprised me that she was the one that said it. 🙂


Leave a Reply

