07
Jan
15

Resolution Time!

It is finally a New Year and, of course, that means it is time for resolutions. It has been a while since I took a bit of time to write, so I figured I would document my goals and what I am doing now to reach them.

I guess I will actually start with what I am doing to keep track of my goals. I am starting here because I am super excited over my recent discovery of Google Keep. This app allows you to create lists and have them accessible on the computer and phone. I use the app for everything. I keep every day errand lists, grocery lists, lists of projects for around the house, big ticket purchases that I want to keep an eye out for, and now my resolutions. I figure if it is somewhere I see every day I am less likely to forget and have goals go to the wayside. I can mark things off as they are accomplished to which I LOVE. My other reminder is old school. I have stuck notes to myself on sticky notes to my computer at work for both my work goals and personal.

So what are my goals? It is a very random mix this year….
*Cut out soda
*Complete a Get Fit Challenge that is being offered at my school
*Complete a 100 mile/100 day challenge
*Participate in a Color Run
*Lose 50 lbs.
*Complete camper renovations
*Get camper legal for the road and learn to drive hauling
*Save money to be able to set up camp for the summer
*Pay off credit cards
*Refinance house
*Complete Associates Degree-walk in May!
*Start working towards Bachelors Degree
*Begin working towards work certification
*Develop old film

As you can see, this is a very random list. Luckily, however, I think it is very doable. I am two classes away from my Associate’s degree and have my final semester starting next week. I have already been accepted to a local University and plan to start my Bachelor’s in the fall. I thought about starting this summer, but really want to enjoy some time with my kids.

This summer should be fun! I hope to complete my camper renovations and have her road ready before I graduate. Then, I want her set up so that we can head for the hills after I finish a work week. I was working a second job to make this dream a reality, but that fell through. My new Plan B is just to be frugal and do what I can do. The being frugal deal will also help with my accomplishing the goal of paying off my credit cards. I will check into refinancing soon.

The other big goal for me is losing 50 lbs. I have had diet goals and fitness goals before. Heck, we all have. This year though, I feel a little more confident about it. I signed up for the 100 mile/100 day challenge being offered through our local parks and rec with a couple of friends. We are each doing it individually, but knowing they are doing it too helps. My college is doing a Get Fit Challenge which looked intriguing; I start that adventure next week and can win prizes for working out and losing weight. It is a win-win! I have to meet certain criteria to win such as a minimum number of work outs, weekly weigh ins, etc. It should help me to stay motivated. The Color Run is in April; I will sign up for that shortly. My friend is also doing a virtual 5k in February which I will likely do as well.

I purchased a Camel Bak and I am trying to wean myself away from soda. It is so hard! I have also decided to stop buying lunches out. I figure every month that I do not eat out for lunch I can set aside $20 and then, come summer, hopefully I will be at 50 lbs lost. Once I hit that 50 lb goal, the money I have saved will go towards a tattoo. I don’t have any right now, but I really want one!

It seems like a lot, but I am pretty excited and think that everything is going to fall into place nicely. I love having a busy schedule-it keeps me out of trouble! I would love to hear what others do to track their goals-what are some things that work for you? What are you working towards in 2015?


1 Response to “Resolution Time!”


  1. January 7, 2015 at 2:50 pm

    I like all your goals, except tatoo. Ha ha! But you can achieve these goals.
    http://www.talkingtomyweightlosscounselor.wordpress.com


Leave a comment