22
Mar
16

A Sad State of Affairs

For the most part, I try to explain to my kids that everyone is entitled to their own beliefs.  However, it is getting harder and harder to have that as my canned answer. People are becoming racist, hateful and hypocritical. When the kids were younger, it was not as visible, but with social media, everyone puts their beliefs on display and that is not always a good thing.  In fact, it makes me sad and has gotten me to the point where I want to start pulling away from these individuals.

Last month at this time, we went on a cruise with some extended family-my children’s father’s family. I do generally claim most of them. My daughter was excited to be participating in a political debate for the Young Democrats at her school. Her uncle called her a “Democrap” and her aunt, one which I would normally hold in high regard, ambushed my child questioning her thoughts and implying that I had somehow brainwashed my child.

Since the cruise, my daughters have been paying more attention to social media posts. It does not help that so much is focused on the presidential race.  Almost daily I get a text or message from one or both of my girls in awe of something a family member had shared or commented on. Today’s conversation was disheartening. The individual that had posted and gotten into an argument with another family member is a grandma figure for my girls. Recent posts and conversations have led us all to realize that she is a racist. She is full of hate and judgement.  Yet, she claims to be a Christian. She was arguing with another family member over a political candidate and was highly irate when asked if Jesus would vote for the candidate she endorsed.

My daughter shared a few thoughts with me while ranting in the car that I felt were pretty spot on:

  1. You cannot use the “N” word and be a real Christian. The Bible says “Love one another” (John 13:34).  It does not specify a skin color.
  2. A leader that mocks people with disabilities is not a good representation for our country and for you to support that person puts you at the same level.
  3. The same people that look down their nose at a woman for abortion want to take away state assistance that can help that mother that choses to have her baby. Really?
  4. Most of the vocal people that irritate us the most are hypocrites. You want to fuss about getting assistance, but you are on food stamps? How does that work? Why are you entitled, but someone else is not? Oh, wait. It is their skin color again. Smh

Honestly, I am sure there were more great points, but it is a Monday and I am writing this hours later.

It is a real shame, but I am fairly certain that even if I do not intentionally cut ties, my kids will be hesitant to have much to do with their family moving forward. Luckily, I know that their doing so is based on their own beliefs and not because of some “brainwashing” by their liberal mama.  It is because my children have sense to treat people with respect regardless of the color of their skin or their capacities.  They value their own rights and understand the importance of helping those in need.

I have a hard time hating anyone.  I am sad at the state that the country has everyone in. I am not a holy roller by any means, but feel like about the only thing we can do at this point is pray. I am praying for the hate filled people out there, our leaders, and that something will come and there will be an intervention of some sort before our political nightmares come true.  Will also keep my fingers and toes crossed, better to be safe than sorry.

2 Responses to “A Sad State of Affairs”


  1. March 22, 2016 at 1:18 pm

    I get what you’re saying; I really do. Here’s the thing, though, are you really any different, fundamentally, from the racist family members that you’re so concerned about?

    Most people, if not all, think that they are right and anyone who lives/believes/thinks differently is wrong. Your “racist” family member sees the cultural differences between herself and people of a particular color and thinks, “People of that color are wrong.” To me, you seem to be doing the exact thing you’re railing against, denouncing someone for being different.

    Judging people by the color of their skin is a bad thing. But, maybe, everyone has parts of themselves that aren’t wholly good. Maybe it would be better not to judge them too harshly for their flaws.

    • March 22, 2016 at 2:12 pm

      I do believe that I am different from the family members that I was mentioning and I am not trying to denounce anyone. Honestly, I have overlooked a lot so that my children could have a relationship with their extended family. I have encouraged my children to do the same. There is definitely good in everyone, but these individuals are not showcasing that and it is a major deterrent for continuing relations.


Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

  • Say "mancave" one more time. Coworkers are plucking my nerves. 4 days ago
  • This morning's coworker calls: fussing at the man at the garage and yelling at his kid. Another beautiful day in the neighborhood. 4 days ago
  • It makes me so sad to see the hate that still exists. 6 days ago
  • RT @MaxineWaters: Don't forget, Trump offered to pay legal fees for those who attacked protesters at his rallies. Will he be making that sa… 6 days ago
  • Interested to see how this week plays out. So ready for new adventures on a few fronts. 6 days ago

