16
May
16

Reflecting

What was supposed to be a great weekend went to hell fast and has left me all out of sorts. Crazy how much someone can intentionally hurt another person. I hate being someone that takes things so personally. However, it is impossible not to when attacked in virtually every aspect of my life. Not cool. So, today, I am fuming.

I don’t need to go into all of the gory details of what happened. What’s done is done.  It is water under the bridge and, unfortunately, I seriously doubt that my relationship with the other person will ever be the same. But it has caused me to do some reflecting which I guess is a good thing. So here are a few things that I think need to be said. Maybe that person will see this, maybe not. It is therapeutic for me, regardless.

Eventually, we all have to grow up and take ownership for our own lives. We each make our own paths. We each have to live with the consequences of our decisions. That is life. The great thing about life is, it is what we make it.  Not happy in your own? Fix it. That is on you. Not the people around you.

Sometimes, we need to check our priorities. As grown-ups, we don’t always get what we want. Rent and utilities should be a priority. If you cannot pay your bills, cut out the extras. Smoking? An extra. Alcohol? An extra.

If we are not good to ourselves, who will be? This kind of goes back to priorities, but we know ourselves. Take care of yourself. Make sure that you are getting what you need. Take your meds, if you are depressed. Find ways to cope. Get counseling.

Remember who has had your back. I am very lucky to have a few people in the world that I know love me and are there when I need them. If you have people like that in your life, love them and treat them with respect. Don’t let a bad day ruin a good relationship.

And, there ya have it. Ornery Dame’s thoughts for the day. Obviously, I am all up in my feels. But, for what it is worth, as much as I hate that our relationship is probably ruined, I have realized just how lucky I really am. I hope that the other person gets their life on track and starts to appreciate what they have before it is too late.

0 Responses to “Reflecting”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

  • RT @delusions_of: You look depressed. Let's listen to Nine Inch Nails together. 17 hours ago
  • Say "mancave" one more time. Coworkers are plucking my nerves. 5 days ago
  • This morning's coworker calls: fussing at the man at the garage and yelling at his kid. Another beautiful day in the neighborhood. 5 days ago
  • It makes me so sad to see the hate that still exists. 1 week ago
  • RT @MaxineWaters: Don't forget, Trump offered to pay legal fees for those who attacked protesters at his rallies. Will he be making that sa… 1 week ago

