19
Aug
16

Reflecting

Confession. I have not always had the best self-esteem. Hell, I still do not. But I have come to the realization over the last year or so that I am actually pretty darn awesome.

I work in a career that allows me to help people. I make a difference. Granted, I do not get to help as many people as I would wish, but I still make an impact. And I can always do more.

I am a good friend. I keep my circle small, but those in the inner circle know that I have their back.

I have a great family. Seriously. My siblings tell it like it is and encourage me to do better. My daughters are my reason for living and bonus are two of my closest friends/confidants (within reason). My parents and grandma love and support me and the girls. And I still have a huge network of my ex’s family that is involved not only my kids’ lives, but in mine as well.

I will probably never be a skinny girl. I was never the one the guys fell over and may never be, but I have come to realize that I am not as hideous as the old me once thought. I have good hair and eyes. I might be shaped like a potato, but I clean up okay. Hell, I am my own kind of hot in pinup.

Physically, I am strong. Stronger than I was a year ago, and continuing to get stronger each day. I have come to enjoy the gym not just because of the activity but because I am able to free my mind for a bit.

Spiritually, I am a little more at peace and I am comforted knowing that the big guy upstairs has my back.

Mentally, I still struggle some days with self-esteem issues. I have my good and bad days dealing with depression. I overthink and stress, but it never keeps me down for long.

I am far from perfect, but I do have a lot to be thankful for. I love this life that I have created for myself and that is constantly changing. I am a lucky girl.

1 Response to “Reflecting”


  1. 1 Become More Healthy Blog
    August 19, 2016 at 6:04 pm

    You are extremely awesome, and you should keep telling yourself that!
    You can do anything that you make up your mind to do!

    Also… Who you are and what you’re about is NOT defined by what others say or think about you!

    Keep up the good work!
    Many Blessings!


Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

  • RT @delusions_of: You look depressed. Let's listen to Nine Inch Nails together. 17 hours ago
  • Say "mancave" one more time. Coworkers are plucking my nerves. 5 days ago
  • This morning's coworker calls: fussing at the man at the garage and yelling at his kid. Another beautiful day in the neighborhood. 5 days ago
  • It makes me so sad to see the hate that still exists. 1 week ago
  • RT @MaxineWaters: Don't forget, Trump offered to pay legal fees for those who attacked protesters at his rallies. Will he be making that sa… 1 week ago

