23
Aug
16

Returning to the Crazy

Routine has returned! Thank you, sweet baby Jesus! Excited to be returning to our brand of crazy-school, extra-curriculars, and busy social lives make me happy.

Yesterday was the first day of school for the girls and to say I was thrilled might be an understatement. It is kind of crazy that I am excited as I am since the girls are old enough to stay home alone and do whatever, but things just run so much smoother when we all have routines. And, even though it is only day two, I am already feeling better about life.

In an ideal world, I would resume my morning workout schedule and hit the gym from 5:30-6:30 daily. Yesterday, I overslept (the first day of school-go me!). This morning I did it. Funny thing but hitting the gym gives me a great start to the day. I am put together somewhat and was able to even start a load of laundry this morning.

This year is especially nice with regards to back to school since both of my girls are in high school. They are back on the same schedule for the most part. No more crazy long bus rides in the afternoons or worrying that someone might miss a bus in the mornings. We are walking distance from the high school-SCORE!

My younger daughter is going to be taking a zero period class if they ever fix her schedule. This will mean that if I take her, I will be out of the house early enough to actually get to work on time. As of right now, that is my plan. I may have to adjust my morning routine a bit for this, but I think it will be a good change.

With the return to us all being on schedule comes better life decisions. I am back on the meal planning bandwagon. Whichever kid gets home first starts preparing whatever is needed for dinner. Last night, my daughter had lasagna on the table by the time her sister and I got home. The crockpot is my friend a lot of the time and I have decided just to keep salad mix and chicken strips on hand if they don’t feel like eating whatever I have planned or if we have an off night for some reason.

In addition to the better eating, we all just seem to work together better when we have our routines. Chores get done in a timelier manner-the board is back. Family study halls become a thing. We all appreciate our down time as well. As if I do not already live for our Tuesday night crap television shows, I really appreciate it when we have all had two full days of crazy.

Funny how much the little things can make a difference. I am a tired, but happy girl this morning. Love our kind of crazy.

0 Responses to “Returning to the Crazy”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

  • RT @delusions_of: You look depressed. Let's listen to Nine Inch Nails together. 17 hours ago
  • Say "mancave" one more time. Coworkers are plucking my nerves. 5 days ago
  • This morning's coworker calls: fussing at the man at the garage and yelling at his kid. Another beautiful day in the neighborhood. 5 days ago
  • It makes me so sad to see the hate that still exists. 1 week ago
  • RT @MaxineWaters: Don't forget, Trump offered to pay legal fees for those who attacked protesters at his rallies. Will he be making that sa… 1 week ago

